Entrance Essay

Penn State College of Engineering

Pennsylvania State University

With the exception of my very first post, all of what I have posted since has been things I have already written, dug out of this file or that, and getting them all down in one place, one in which I can share with anyone who chooses to read them. Today, I am still finding things I have written over the years and came across the essay portion of my application to Penn State. Sometimes I read over again things I have written and I think, “There is no way I wrote that,” and I am just blown away. Again, I am my own worst critic and at the time I write, I am left wondering if it is the best I could do. But then time passes and I revisit my writings and see that it was much better than I gave myself credit for. This essay is one example.

I am passionately concerned with personal growth and development. I strive to discover who I am and how I can become my best possible self — always this quest for self-knowledge and self-improvement drives me with determination and dedication to the end goal and to new goals beyond. And I want to help others make the journey. I am naturally drawn to working with people, and whether in education or counseling or personnel work, I have a desire to help others find their way in life, and to inspire them to grow as individuals and to fulfill their potentials. I feel that friendly cooperation is the best way for people to achieve their goals. Conflict and confrontation is generally upsetting because it seems to put up angry barriers between people. I strive to create harmonious, even caring personal relations, and I have a unique talent for helping people get along with each other and work together for the good of all. The real, practical world is only a starting place for me; I believe that life is filled with possibilities waiting to be realized, rich with meaning, calling out to be understood. I am highly ethical in my actions, and hold myself to a strict standard of personal integrity. Working toward a degree in Psychology at Penn State is only one leg of my journey in life. It will provide me with a very necessary tool to really be able to help people change their life and improve their quality of living. I, myself, have gone through therapy and learned how to overcome, to heal, and to forgive, and in doing so, I have become the healthy, happy, and victorious woman I am today. My desire and my goal is to give back all I have been given and more. 

 Upon leaving high school, I did not consider college as I had believed I could never afford to go. I was not asked about or encouraged to continue with college by my parents or my school and was not told, at that time, about financial aid. I moved from Florida to Oregon, got married, had two children, and finally escaped my marriage to a violent alcoholic. I continued to work and survive for many years until one day my sister suggested I apply for financial aid and go back to school. In 2007, I did just that. I started the summer of 2007 at Portland Community College with one class. I continued for two years and then sought the guidance of an Academic Advisor regarding graduation. I had been under the impression that 90 credits is what I needed to graduate, but was unaware that the specific degree I was seeking required very specific classes. I learned I was still missing 10 business classes, two economic classes, one in philosophy, among a few others. Determined not to give up, I plunged right in and I am currently in my last term and will graduate on June 10th, 2011 with an AAS in Accounting. Shortly thereafter, I will be moving to Pennsylvania permanently and continuing my education in the psychology field. 

I have since moved to Pennsylvania, been accepted to Penn State University, and made the Dean’s List my first semester of classes. I have also learned that in addition to the AAS in Accounting, I also earned a second Associate Degree in General Studies. I am well on my way. Once I earn my BA in Psychology, my goal is to go to either Cornell University or Yale University to earn a PhD in Psychology. That entrance essay will have too much more superior, but with a couple of years ahead of me, I will accomplish this, as well.

One response to “Entrance Essay

  1. Pingback: February 15, 2012 | onemindmanydetours

Leave a Reply

