She’s Gone

The night is my enemy.

 

Darkness and silence

its weapons.

Pain and fear

its ammunition.

And death, my death,

its ultimate victory.

 

My heart is broken

my soul is empty

my stomach sick

from all the tears

I cannot shed.

 

Cold, invisible fingers

close around my throat

robbing me of air

but I don’t care.

I’m drowning anyway.

 

And I’m angry!

I’m so very angry

at all who care about me

obligating me to go on

enveloped and submerged

in this deep, eternal pain of mine.

 

I cannot bear it much longer…

Leave a Reply

