My Personal Mission Statement

“In everything that I do, to every person who crosses my path, and wherever I go, I will strive to remain empathetic, remembering all I have endured; compassionate, remembering the many kindnesses and care that have been extended to me; and giving, remembering all that has been given to me: understanding, a hand, a meal, a shoulder to cry on, forgiveness, and many second chances. With God in my heart, laughter in my belly, and a song on my lips, I will continue to look for the bright side, even in the darkest corners and remember that things could always be worse than they are—always.”

I have taken many classes on my educational journey, and I find that I learn a lot more than just academic knowledge. I like to reflect often on all that I learn and to ponder whether or not I am still putting these valuable lessons to use. In one of the classes, we were given an assignment that entailed writing a mission statement and then determining when and where in our lives we could, should, and would live by our commitment. The above statement is the one I wrote for that class, and I am pleased to see that I still follow it very closely in my life.

I strive on a daily basis to become not only a better person, but the person I want to become. Taking the time to write a mission statement to identify what that would look like provided me with guidance and direction. I have been through a lot in my life and have made some excellent as well as destructive choices. Though I am remorseful to those I have had a negative or painful impact on, I do not regret one moment of my life to this point. Every situation, every circumstance, every decision, and every action has been instrumental in shaping the woman I am becoming. Through a lot of hard work, forgiveness of myself and others, and learning from my experiences, I like who I am today. This mission statement is not only a map of how to live, but also an expression of the healing and growth I have already begun.

To show how this has affected the important aspects of my life, I will first share the part of me where these principles come naturally, without effort, and seemingly without thought. Out in the world, in my community, at my school, when someone is in need and I have the ability to meet that need, I do it. I have stepped off the bus to help a frazzled mother of three very young children, with her stroller and seven bags of groceries, walking with her to her destination and then returning to the stop to wait for the next bus. I have bought a hot cup of coffee, a couple of doughnuts, and a hot dog for an elderly man standing on the street with a sign that read, “No money please—I need food—I’m hungry.” And I have given my phone number on many occasions to complete strangers who were trying to figure out the whole process of getting back into school and just from our conversation I was able to discern that they were not only terrified, but on the verge of giving up.

Throughout the years, many people have reached out their hand to me and pulled me up, literally and metaphorically, asking nothing in return. That, in and of itself, is a most humbling experience. To be the one to offer my hand to someone else, especially when they least expect it or have become convinced there is no hope left, is rewarding and fulfilling. I never question, hesitate, or doubt when my heart speaks. For me, that is God’s way of telling me that He is going to work through me to bless another’s life with grace. It’s what I pray for every morning and give thanks for every night.

It is in my personal family life that this mission statement will be the most helpful to me. When it is an isolated incident, on the spur of the moment, with a complete stranger, I can act accordingly with my mission statement without even thinking; however, I don’t seem to treat my family with the same level of empathy, compassion, and giving. I don’t intentionally take advantage or take for granted the people who are closest and most important to me, but the reality is that I do. Have I become too comfortable with everyday routine, to content with being taken care of and spoiled, too complacent in my laziness? I think so, and though no one is really complaining, if I sit still long enough, my conscience is starting to speak up. If I can make my their day a little easier or do something to make them laugh when they are blue, I should do just that. I never know when a simple moment of thoughtfulness can make a huge difference in their day, feelings, or thoughts. The truth is, they do it for me all the time, especially when I need it most.

Leave a Reply

