Reading, Writing, and Imagination

I love to read. I have been reading for as long as I can remember. Reading lets me open my mind, expand my imagination, escape my current thoughts of reality, and most importantly, it allows me to learn. It is not uncommon for me to look up words in the dictionary which leads me to look up more words used in the definition of the original word in question. Or I will grab my cell phone and text one of two, and occasionally both, of friends who are word geniuses and ask for their more complicated, in-depth definition.

I have an extremely vivid imagination and highly acute senses, so much so, that when I read, I feel I am actually living the story. My senses are easily stimulated by the magic of words either juggled randomly or well-balanced on the ongoing pages of a story; ongoing because long after the back cover closes, my mind, having become closely acquainted with the characters and circumstances, keeps the story alive and continues until the next book comes along, catches my attention, and allows for a new saga to begin.

Since enrolling in my first college classes almost five years ago, I have been writing the experiences of my mind, whether it be in connection with something I have read or getting to paint my own story from a variety of colorful words drawn from my ever-growing vocabulary. This blog is a collection of some lesson-variety, rough-edged, first-time writings, along with brand new thoughts and ideas that dance through my mind with curiosity. It’s the beginning, for me, of a brand new journey. And I am loving every minute of it!

Leave a Reply

