Just Me, #5

Greetings One and All,

I am writing to you this evening as a form of a reality check. When I started this blog, I was between semesters and had nothing but time to write and write, as much as I wanted, and my earlier postings are evident that I did, indeed, do a lot of writing. I have had an eager and ferocious desire and sincere intent on writing at least one post a day, and believe me, I think about it more often than I should, but this semester is getting more and more demanding and time-consuming. Ahhh… I am experiencing déjà’ vu. I feel I have said this all before, so if I have, please forgive me. My brain is tired.

So, here is my reality. I cannot, no matter how much I want to or should, write something to post on my blog every day. However, I do believe I can and I will try to write something at least once a week. If I can do more, of course, I will, but I am not putting any pressure on myself. If I think I am going to attend Yale or Cornell, I need to accept the fact that my studies and potential grades must come first, especially at $600/credit and $200/book. I cannot imagine that any of you would disagree with that, but if you do, let me say again, I am sorry, but this is the way that it is.

Now, I want you to have something to look forward to, so here is some of what I have been working on when I do have a few minutes here and there to tap out a few thoughts. I am in the process of writing three more Reflections of a Recovering Addict; one regarding a common term used in recovery—Higher Power, one in regards to the importance and equivalence of hours, days, weeks, months, years clean, and the reality that no one has more than the 24 hours in front of them, and one about the friends and family that we gain in recovery that is unmatched anywhere else. I also want to write one about the many friends I have around the world in recovery and how surprised and happy I was to learn (remember, I have a tendency to be naïve) that recovery is available in so many other countries, and how I had no idea.

There are two other pieces I am writing. Manhattan is the name I gave my most adored kitten when she was born on May 11, 2010. Nine months later, she became very sick and in less than 24 hours, I had to take her to the vet, which ended in learning that she had leukemia and had to be put to sleep. I want to write about her and why I think she was, by far, the best kitten on the planet earth, accompanied by a collage of photos of her from her birth to just days before her passing. The other one is about ladybugs. I will leave it that, so I do not spoil the story.

There is one last thing I am considering doing. The Professor in my English class, Writing in the Social Sciences, is having us do an in-depth field research assignment on a subculture in our community. The idea is to choose a subculture, such as a retirement home, a church, music club, or dance studio to name a few, and to spend time there observing the members of the group, how they interact, how they dress, what their reason is for being the group they are; take pictures, do outside research, draw maps, conduct interviews, and so on. We are given many different assignments throughout this project and the end result should tell the reader more about that subculture than they ever knew or believed possible. I have chosen the bowling alley. My reasons for this are outlined in our first assignment which I have just submitted, a subculture and field site proposal. I think it would be fun to post these essays and reports as I go along, and share this experience with all of you. After all, this blog is about detours of my mind, and going to college and all that I learn there is definitely a detour worth writing about. What do you think?

That is all I have for tonight. My plan is to post again by Sunday night. I hope all or  most of you will come back and see what comes next. Pleasant dreams!

-Cindy

4 responses to “Just Me, #5

  1. Pingback: Whew! More Versatile Blogger Awards… – allaboutlemon

  2. Sorry about your kitten. I once got two kittens, a brother and sister, and they were little angels. They lived for about a year and a half then one then the other died of feline leukemia. We are very devoted animal lovers and we were really attached to them by then. I love your blog, I hope you are able to write once a week but I understand. Your priorities are in order. Have a great day!

    • Yes, I was surprised at how very attached I had become to Manhattan. It has been almost a year and I still catch myself crying now and agian. Thank you for your support! I am off now to read a couple of chapters in Developmental Psychology and take a couple of quizzes. When I have the time on Sunday, I will catch up on your recent posts. Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

