Ladybug in All Her Glory

I Love Ladybugs! I have a lot of reasons why I love them, but before I get to my silly, personal reasons, allow me to share with you one of the most important! “The Ladybird [Ladybug] street tile is a symbol against ‘senseless violence’ in The Netherlands and is often placed on the sites of deadly crimes” (Digitalism Magazine). I realize that the following paragraph has a lot of big, foreign words in it, however, the information is worth choking through (or skipping over) those words and I believe an example that should be followed in other countries, as well. I, personally, am going to see what it will take to establish this awareness in my own country, America! I am open to any and all suggestions on this, so please, feel free to comment your hearts out!

“The Dutch call the Ladybug an Onze-lieve-Heersbestje , a crude translation being ‘Our dear Lord’s Little Beastlet.’ It’s not surprising that the Ladybird is the Dutch National symbol against aggression and mindless violence with well over 300,000 people who wear the Ladybird pin expressing this symbolic sentiment. Since July 2004, NRG Rex-Rotary Netherlands has been one of the official ambassadors of the Dutch National Foundation Against Senseless Violence…Landelijke Stichting Tegen Zinloos Geweld (LSTZG). Bart Wisbrun started the Foundation in 1997 with the Ladybug paving stone which literally paved the way for others around the world to think the same. NRG Rex-Rotary [in the] Netherlands had salespeople place 250 paving stones in school playgrounds as part of the Foundation’s philosophy that by not treading on this paving stone and by walking around it carefully it would remind us of what the Ladybird stands for” (Digitalism Magazine ©).

I also found this fun little bit of information on Wikipedia; “Ladybirds are and have for very many years been favorite insects of children, who are reputed to regard them tenderly. The Ladybird is immortalized in the children’s nursery rhyme extant:

Ladybird, Ladybird, fly away home
Your house is on fire and your children are gone
All except one, and that’s Little Anne
For she has crept under the warming pan.”

In many places is North-Europe, tradition says you get a wish granted if a Ladybug lands on you. I have always believed that too, though I am not from Northern Europe. If you Google “symbolism of Ladybugs” you will find a list of sites that have a variety of said symbolises. If you count the spots of a Ladybug that lands on you, it will indicate how many months before true love finds you. Or, a Ladybug that lands on your arm is said to measure you for gloves to be worn at your wedding, which you can expect to take place in one year. Ladybugs bring love, luck, and loot—the financial kind. And you have to admit, for an insect, it is pretty darn cute. Did you know they have an array of colors, not just red, but orange, yellow, and even some shades of purple? One myth says that the number of spots on a Ladybug’s wings indicate its age, but that is just a myth because a Lady never tells her age.

You may also thank the Ladybug, as they are loved by farmers. Why is that? Because Ladybugs gobble up aphids at a rate of nearly 75 per day—each! More Ladybugs mean less pests, which lead to bigger and healthier crops, thus lower prices at the supermarket. Sure, ok, theoretically anyway. But enough of the boring facts. Why do I love Ladybugs?

When I was a very young child, my Aunt Terry was killed in a drunk driving accident. It was July 4th, and it was her 25th birthday. She and my Uncle Kyle were on their way to Memaw and Pappy’s house for dinner, birthday cake, and presents. A truck came out of nowhere, driven by a 15-year-old girl, with two more girls her age in the seat beside her. They had all been drinking and instead of stopping at the stop sign, they slammed into the passenger side of my uncle’s truck. My aunt died two hours later at the hospital.

Less than a year later, my Memaw died. Her death certificate says she died of heart failure, but my mother always said she died of a broken heart at the loss of her youngest child. All I knew was that my heart had been broken and I didn’t think I would live much longer myself. I was only eight, but had never experienced the kind of pain that the loss of my beloved Memaw caused me. I never wanted to love anyone as much as I loved her ever again and risk feeling this awful when they were taken away from me.

Sometime later, (maybe about two years…I’m not exactly sure) my Uncle Kyle got married again to a beautiful and wonderful woman who was called Bunny by her family and friends. I tried to ignore her, though she was always so nice to me and talked to me more than most adults did. I couldn’t help it; I came to adore her (I still do). Aunt Bunny called me Ladybug. I loved walking into their house and hearing her say, with a huge smile on her face, “Well, hi there, Ladybug! Fancy seeing you here” and we would laugh. She spent a lot of time with me. Aunt Bunny would bake with me, do my nails, perm my hair, and let me dress up in her many gorgeous outfits that filled her walk-in closet. She hummed all the time and it was a very soothing and comforting sound.

I have loved Ladybugs ever since. I have Ladybug earrings, a Ladybug planter, Ladybug stationary, a “beanie” Ladybug, and a stuffed bear in a Ladybug costume, just to name a few. In this past year, I have made a new friend. She is smart, funny, very caring, and is wiser than she knows. From our first conversation, I found her to be comfortable to talk to and I immediately  developed an admiration for her that had a really familiar feel. It didn’t take long to remember, and so, in honor of those precious memories, I often call this very dear friend of mine, Ladybug!

3 responses to “Ladybug in All Her Glory

  1. I have always loved ladybugs. As a child I used to put them in bowls with holes on top so they could breath. My mom used to make me put them back and she would tell me that if I really did love them, I would let them live happily in their environment as I wouldn’t want anyone removing me from my home because they “liked” me. I felt I was kidnapping them and I didn’t want to be a kidnapper. I had no idea that this little insect was a symbol against aggression but I really like the idea. I enjoyed this blog very much. So very sorry for your losses, thank you for sharing that story though as I can see how special this little critter became in your life. 🙂

    • I am really glad you liked this post. Thank you for reading and for sharing your own Ladybug memory. I think the analogy your mother used was brilliant! Yes, they have indeed become very special to me, and as a matter of fact, when I see a ladybug, for me it is a little message that says, “Everything is going to be ok,” and my hope is renewed. That may sound a little silly, but at those very moments, it does wonders for me.

Leave a Reply

