Hometown…?

Being a student at Penn State University, one of the things most frequently asked in an introduction discussion board is to share your hometown. I know this may seem silly, but I truly have a hard time with this. What constitutes a person’s “hometown?” Here is why I ask.

I was born in Michigan, where I lived only four years of my life. I remember almost nothing from that time period. When I was four and my sister had just turned one, we moved to Florida, where I was raised. I spent the remainder of my childhood there in that southern state and shortly after I reached my 18th birthday, I moved to Oregon once I had graduated high school. I lived there for 22 years. That is currently equivalent to over half of my lifetime. Both of my boys were born in Oregon. Now, for a little less than a year, I have been living in Pennsylvania, and I feel more at home here than I can remember elsewhere.

So, is my hometown where I was born? Is it where I was raised and graduated high school? Is it where I spent over half of my life and raised my own children? Or is the place I now call home? Do you see my dilemma? My guess is that Florida, the state in which I was raised, shared a “home” with my parents (until I was 10, and then it was only my mother) and my sister, and is where all of my “when I was growing up” memories and stories come from, would probably be the best choice when asked where my hometown is. But, then again, I really don’t know. Would anyone like to shed some light on this silly little concept for me? It will make posting my introduction to new classes so much easier!

14 responses to “Hometown…?

  1. wikipedia says:

    Hometown or home town is the city or town where one grew up, or the place of one’s principal residence. It is not to be confused with birthplace, although the two can be the same place.

    David in Maine USA

    • Thank you, David. I tend to agree. WHere I grew up is where I have a myriad of fond memories and still have very close ties with friends I went to elementary school as far back as kindergarten! Hometown, I am coming to believe, is where your childhood days were spent.

      -Cindy

  2. My aunt likes to say, “Home it where you hang your coat.” To me, home is where I have my fondest memories. I wasn’t born here. But I have spent most of my life here. My husband isn’t native to my particular suburb, but he ended up here with me. Why? Because he and I had the most wonderful time in our late teens, early adulthood.

    Home is where you make it. Home can be each place that you loved. I don’t think it has to be one place at all.

    • Thank you, Lulu1 I like your response best. And I supppose it would depend on who is asking and why. For classes I will go with Florida since it is where I grew up. But for most others, Pennsylvania is where I am, where I love to be, and this really is my home now.

      -Cindy

      • Maybe it’s just Pennsylvania that has that effect on people. My father has lived many places, all around the world. But, he chose to settle down with my mother in PA. I’ve traveled around, and made my decision pretty early. Pittsburgh is my home. It’s the only city that fits. Decent weather, mostly. Not a whole lot of terrible natural disasters. Enriched historically and culturally. Not a huge population. And it has water. All of the things I love in a city. Oh, and you don’t have to live inside city limits to still be a part of it.

        • Hi Lulu,
          You know quite a bit about the town you live in. I live in Tobyhanna located in the Pocono Mountains. From what I understand, the Pocono Mountain region is the Honeymoon Capital of the world. The closest cities to where I am are Stroudsburg and Wilkse Barre. I am about an hour and a half drive north of Philadelphia. Unfortuantely, I do not know too much more about it…Yet! Thank you for sharing here, as I am now intrigued to do a little research. =)

    • Hi Eric,

      I think if I had stayed long enough in the state I was born and actually had any memories of that time, that would make sense, but I really only know what I have seen in pictures my mother took and those old reel to reel videos without sound. Where were you born? Were you there most or all of your childhood?

      -Cindy

      • I was born and brought up within the British Naval Base in Singapore. I consider that home.

        But I can see where you’re coming from…perhaps there is much truth in “Home is where the heart is”

        Luv and peace Cindy,
        from Eric in Singapore 🙂

        • Wow! Singapore! How very cool. And you are still there? Thank you, Eric, for sharing that. My grandfather was in the American Air Force and worked on the Air base for years after he retired the service. My mother was also a civilian employee on the air base for 17 years before she passsed away. I never lived on base, but when I was in my late teens, before moving to Oregon, I had friends from church that lived on base, so I was there often.

          You are sweet, Eric. So glad we met here on wordpress!

          -Cindy

  3. I don’t know what to tell you. I was born and raised in Michigan. Then I moved to florida for several years and that seemed like my home town and now I live in Kentucky which doesn’t seem like home lol. Technically I think it really means the town you grew up in. I think it would be Florida for you IMO

Leave a Reply

