Crossing My Fingers

I received some bad news yesterday. It is not entirely bad, and as my mother always said, there is a bright side to it all. The news was that I cannot attend the summer semester at Penn State University. The reason why is that apparently, universities do not disburse financial aid funds in the way that community colleges do, and they only provide aid for fall and spring semesters, leaving little, if anything at all, for summer. The part of this that is bad for me is that what remains of the financial aid funds after all classes are paid for and books are purchased was just enough, barely, to pay my bills. Without financial aid for the summer, I not only cannot afford to pay for classes and books, I will not receive the excess to cover my bills. This means that I most definitely need to get a job. I do not have a problem with this, but in this economy, even getting called back for an interview is very slim. So, all I can do is hit the pavement and do the leg work, make follow-up calls, and then cross my fingers and hold my breath. If I am unable to get a job, I will be in world of financial hurt…but who isn’t these days, yes? The bright side is that I have not had a summer off in four years, so this will be quite a treat. When (I am being positive here) I get a job, I will go, work, and then leave. No due dates or deadlines or tests to study for and lots more time for writing and for sunbathing! Now, that is something to look forward to.

27 responses to “Crossing My Fingers

  1. You always have loved your coffee, perhaps a barista is in your future?
    Keep up the good work, I’m a big fan.

    • Hey you,
      Unfortunately, it is not a matter of choice, but one of availabilty and that won’t take my distant past into account when making their decision to hire me. It really sucks, but I keep forging forward. Thank you. As long as people keep reading, I will keep writing. Take care.
      -Cindy

  2. Pingback: Just Me, #9 | One Mind Many Detours

    • Yes, indeed, I will have a fabulous summer! The only thing that may hinder it is stress. The only thing I foresee that would be stressful is not having a job, and given that, I am making it a priority to have a job before the spring semester comes to a close! My favorite thing is the feel of sunshine on my skin! It can’t get here soon enough!

      -Cindy

    • Thank you, Eric! Yes, one of the best things I have learned in my life is that worry and doubt changes nothing, and poitive thinking, if nothing else, will give you peace of mind. Knowing this has taken me far!

      -Cindy

  3. Good luck Cindy! I know how stressful being unemployed, looking for a job, interviewing anD starting a new job can be. I hope it all falls into place for you. And no matter what remember it is a temporary speed bump on the road to a much better life.

    Carrie

    • Ah, yes, the old adage of this too shall pass. I know it well. I honestly believe it will all fall into place for me. Yes, the whole process can be daunting, but the end result is every bit worth the discomfort. I just have to stay focused and keep putting one foot in front of the other. I will be working sooner than later and taking a small break from school will be such a nice thing for me! =)

      -Cindy

  4. Im really sorry to hear of that news. Good luck with the job hunting though, surely there will be something out there waiting for you. Glad you are seeing the positive side to this 🙂

    • Thank you, Kellie. The more I think of getting to sit by the pool and soak in the hot sunshine, the more this news is looking better than worse. Thanks for the good luck wishes! I will come by and see all your latest posts real soon, I promise!

      -Cindy

  5. I know how you feel. My first summer back, my idiot adviser screwed up my paperwork so even though I was admitted, I couldn’t enroll in any classes. Total bummer. Hang in there.

    • OMG! Chris!!!! Hi! Ha ha! I knew you had a blog somewhere out there, but um, what happened? Looks like you fell right off. You should start posting again. I was looking it over briefly and cracking up! I love your sense of humor!

      Thanks! I am looking at it differently now that the initial shock has passed. I am in my fifth year of school with a very bare minimum of five more years to go, and that is being optimistic. One summer off will be very good for me! All I have to do is think of the pool and the sun, and I forget all about having to miss those few months of classes. =)

      I really, really miss you and you know I love you!

      -Cindy XO

    • Thank you. I have no doubt that something good will come my way. And with all of this encouragement from the blogosphere, it will be easy to keep my head up! So much positive energy being shared and filling me up. I can’t lose!

      -Cindy

Leave a Reply

