This Is Weird

Writer’s block? Me? Sure, I have a hard time getting something started, but only because I am so worried about the first sentence not only grabbing the attention of the reader, but also to lead cleverly, but smoothly into all that is in my mind. I think that is somewhat common. Yes, I suppose writer’s block is also common from time to time, but in searching my memory from top to bottom, I have never encountered anything like this—until now.

I finally have the time to write and nothing comes to mind, but a blank slate. I have a list of topics sitting right here in front of me. I have tried quite a few of them, but nothing is coming to the page, but a bunch of garbled ramble. I remember with each one of these ideas, when I wrote them down, I had a thousand words, at least, hysterically trying to come out at once, but couldn’t write them then because I had school work that took priority. I have tried starting the first of a series of 32 posts I intend to write, ironically about the do’s and the don’ts of writing, but again, just a bunch of muddled mental mumbo-jumbo stiltedly comes from my finger tips to my keys, nothing I would ever post. I have tried the 7-minute story, something I have been wanting to do for a long time now, but have waited until I could do so with nothing else pressing and my mind relatively free to create. Nothing!

What is the 7-minute story? You have two choices to learn what this is. The first, wait until I actually write one, because no matter what, I am going to write at least one. I do not want to try to explain it now, since I am struggling to fit strings of words together. I do not want to do it an injustice…or you. Your second choice is to pop on over to Limebird Writers and look for the post entitled 7-minute story, which is where I found it, and read about it there. I think it is a great idea and could give a writer great potential, but unfortunately, today is not the day for me. Such a bummer!

I have also run out of photos to post. I could take some more, but it is getting ready to rain any minute and I am sort of dog-sitting. I am sure your next thought is that I could take her with me, yes? No. She is 12 years old and has hip dysplasia which means her back legs are essentially paralyzed. She can still hobble around, but I would need to walk on the road a ways to get some more shots and the asphalt would bloody her little back feet. I have not posted music in a while, so maybe I will try that next. I can usually muster up some connection or memory to accompany a song. We’ll see.

The other thing I have wanted to post is a memory blog about my oldest son, Jeremiah.  Quite some time ago, I wrote one about my youngest son, Zachary. If you didn’t get to read it and would like to, it is right here—My Little Boy. It is a lengthy post, and Jeremiah’s will be also. Other than the music, and unless something powerful hits my mind like a speed train and knocks me out of my chair, I think I will get started on Jeremiah’s, even if just jotting down all the different things I want to write about within it.

Whew! Until then, I will just let this writer’s block run its course. I am sure it will pass. It will, won’t it? It has to. Maybe it is a cue to do something else I have been meaning to do. For example, fill out these applications sitting on my desk, or the postcards I bought my boys last week, or just go take a bubble bath and read some of the two books I have yet to finish. Anyone, please stick with me and do not get discouraged. I am still right here and am not going anywhere. I am just stuck.

5 responses to “This Is Weird

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your writer’s block. That can be devastating. There are soooo many suggestions out there. Some will work for some, none will work at all, and only you will know in the end what will work best for you.

    I do believe that writer’s block comes mainly from pressure, stress. It has little to do with the story itself (unless of course we’re writing crap, but I think that’s a different problem entirely). I have never believed that writer’s block is the result of having nothing to write, or not knowing what to write. I think we get ourselves bound up to the point the words stop flowing freely.

    So, anyway, that’s my two cents. It’ll all come back to you, but probably when you least expect it, or when you’re not trying to access your story. Perhaps entertain yourself with something else, a movie or something non-writing related. I know! Dance in the rain! 🙂

    • Hi!
      Yes, I agree with you. I am rarely at a loss for words, so I know there is plenty to be written and many stories to be shared. I believe my brain was just super tired and needed a rest. I feel today will be much better. The bright side of yesterday was that I was able to take time to read a lot of posts from the blogs I follow and comment. It turned out to be a really good and productive day.
      By the way, I am not sure if you have had a chance to see the post I wrote about you and your blog, but it is entitled, My 100th WordPress Follower. I hope you get a chance to check it out!
      Thanks for your support and encouragement!
      -Cindy

  2. im gonna stick with ya girl. Just don’t try too hard. You got a whole list of stuff there so of course you can’t focus on anything in particular. But take your time. I’ll be here

Leave a Reply

