Cherokee Wisdom

Do you know those emails that are forwarded to you and countless others that clog up your box and are marked for deletion without ever being read? The ones where you see the three letters FWD, and you think Ugh, not another one? I know them well too, as none of the eight email accounts that I use are immune. However, every once in a while, something catches my attention in the subject line and I open and read what is inside. More seldom than that, I read something that I like.

One one of these occasions, I actually wrote down what the email contained. I came across it recently and was again struck by how profound the message is and I want to share it with you. I wish I could credit who wrote this, but I cannot because I honestly do not know. This little dialogue will conclude my post, as there is truly nothing more that needs to be said.

An old Cherokee told his grandson, “My son, there is a battle between two wolves inside us all. One is Evil. It is anger, jealousy, greed, resentment, inferiority, lies, and ego. The other is Good. It is joy, peace, love, hope, humility, kindness, empathy, and truth.”

The boy thought about it and asked, “Grandfather, which wolf wins?”

The old man quietly replied, “The one you feed.”

10 responses to “Cherokee Wisdom

  1. I saw this message in Facebook and it is so beautiful. But had forgotten about it, thank you for posting it in your blog!

  2. Love this, my grandmother (Comanche) raised me on this. Thank you for awakening a wonderful memory for me.

    • Since posting this, I have learned that this legend has been around for centuries! Yet, I had never heard it before now. I am glad you enjoyed it and that it brought back pleasant memories for you!
      -Cindy

  3. I’ve heard this many times and still love the wisdom in it, my William is Native American, I will see if he knows who actually said this,

      • Apparently, no one we know is exactly sure where this story came from, Native Americans (all tribes) have kept their wisdom alive by passing the lessons and legends down to the next generation through story telling and oral tradition, this way it can’t ever really be destroyed. Sorry we weren’t more help, be comforted that by sharing this, you are honoring all Native Americans and their beliefs and passing wisdom on to others.

        • Don’t be sorry. This is fantastic. There was a woman in my speech class one year who was Native American and she gave a speech telling us all about the story telling traditions. I remember thinking how much I wish I could be a part of that. I love stories that paint a historical picture. This one was short, but very powerful in its message. Thank you!
          -Cindy

Leave a Reply

