You Can Make the Difference

Photo: Courtesy of Elizabethkuhnke’s Blog

Do you know those days when you go to a site, such as WordPress or YouTube or Twitter and you just get lost? Whether it is reading the blogs of others, listening to music, answering tweets, or some other form of locked focus, suddenly you realize that you have been at it for hours and are surprised by how time has just flown by?

Well, yesterday was one of those days for me, and YouTube was the site I found myself immersed in. It started out with music and somehow turned into viewing videos of really strange happenings, such as the 7-year-old boy who had an emergency operation and what would have been his twin, was removed from his abdomen, to stand up comics, to the kind of video that knocks your socks off and sort of kicks you in the behind.

One such video I must share with you all. If only more of us could have the passion and the guts that this girl has, we could make a difference. If only I, Cindy, could harness and develop my passion to the level this girl has already accomplished, I could make a real difference.

One person can and does make a difference. Because one person who speaks up or begins an action will be joined by one more, and then another and another, until there is a mass. Do you know the Trayvon Martin case? He was a 17-year-old boy in Florida who was shot by a 28-year-old neighborhood watch man. For more details, just Google Trayvon Martin. Due to some law called the “Stand Your Ground” law, the shooter, George Zimmermann, was not arrested and was not going to be charged. But the law did not fit the circumstances as a defense, so people immediately stood up, spoke up, and did something that made a difference.

According to the Washington Post, “44 days of marches, protest and acrimony on the air waves” led to Florida’s Special Prosecutor, Angela Corey, arresting and charging Zimmerman of Second Degree Murder. There have been quite a few updates and goings on about this case since then, and I do not yet know what they are, but the point is, action was taken and the goal of those actions was achieved.

The young girl in the following video is just one voice, but when one more speaks up and then another, the mass can and will be heard. This girl speaks of environmental issues. That may not be your cup of tea, but please do take a few moments to listen to her speech. She is knowledgeable, passionate, and angry. And she makes a damn good argument that I would be surprised if anyone would disagree with her.

What is it that I am passionate and angry about? Bullying! It is a national epidemic that needs one person at a time to step up, speak up, and do something, anything, to stop it. I am one person, but I am most certainly not alone in this fight. Many others are working tirelessly to educate, inform, and convince all who will listen that something needs to be done and is being done. Care to join me?

4 responses to “You Can Make the Difference

    • You are absolutely right! I have been making an effort to do so, and believe me, I am just barely getting started. The more I educate myself on the things I feel passionately about, such as putting a stop to bullying on all levels and fighting for gay rights, the louder my voice will become. 🙂

  1. Bullying has gone from schoolyard shenanigans to a nationwide epidemic. The fact that bullying and teasing is no longer one on one, or a small group of kids doing it in relatively “private” situations, to doing it now on the social media sites increases the “audience” of every snide comment or threat by thousands and makes it virtually impossible to turn the other cheek. I agree, we must each take a stand against this form of harassment and we must remind ourselves and teach our children that our words can indeed wound others… even when not spoken in person.

    By the way, just wanted to thank you for stopping by my blog and deciding to follow along. I’m looking forward to reading more of your work here. Thanks again 🙂

    • I completely agree. We not only need to teach our children that words can and do hurt, we need to set the example. I think it is also important to teach our children effective defense and coping skills, so if they are the ones being bullied, especially on the grander scale of the internet, they can learn to overcome and stay strong, because as much as we try to protect them, we cannot always do so. As with sex and drugs, one of the best places to start is to create an environment where open and ongoing communication with out children is safe, comfortable, and reliable.
      Thank you for checking out my blog also!
      -Cindy

Leave a Reply

