No. 1 Billboard Hit, 1979

I have been away for a while and explanation posts will soon follow, but first, I must catch up on my Billboard posts. Five in all, so please bear with me. We are almost to the 80s, so great songs can be expected. However, there is one more number one Billboard hit from the 70s, Da Ya Think I’m Sexy by Rod Stewart. This was the hit on my eighth birthday, February 15, 1979. I remember this birthday well because one of my gifts was to be taken to a movie theatre for the first time; the movie I saw was Grease. The only other movie I had seen outside of my own home prior to this was Star Wars when I was five years old at a drive-in theatre and, of course, being so young, I fell asleep before it was over.

My mother raised me on country music, so I had not yet discovered any other genres yet. It wasn’t until years later that I heard this song, but I liked it then and I still like it now. I hope you enjoy it, but if this is not your cup of tea, wait just a few minutes and another song will follow. Until then, listen and let the memories flood your minds and hearts.

Leave a Reply

