Just Me, #12

Hello Family, Friends, and Fans,

It’s just me again, here to fill you in on where I have been and what I have been doing. Did I mention I got a job? Well, I did, and I am working full-time plus. I work Monday through Friday, 5:30 AM to 2:00 PM, with weekends off. Minimum wage here in Pennsylvania is the same as the federal limit, which is $7.25/hr. When I was first hired, I started at $7.50/hr and by the third day I worked, I was given a raise and now make $8.00/hr. Starting on July 5th, I will be back to being able to pay all my bills myself and have money left over for contributing to the household I live in and hopefully have enough to fly my youngest son, Zachary, out for a visit this summer. After that comes my new camera, then a Dremel, and then who knows. It is a great feeling to have some financial freedom.

Other than being an assistant in a computer lab for about 15 hours a week while at Portland Community College (work-study), I have not worked for almost five years. Standing on my feet continuously for nine hours a day, five days in a row, has taken some getting used to. I have come home exhausted and sore and aching in places I forgot I had. Twice in two weeks I have come home from work, lie down on my bed and slept until the next morning when it was time to get up and start another day. At the end of this two weeks, I am down to just an ache in my lower back and I am hoping a week or two more will eliminate that as well. I cannot tell you what a relief it is to be working again!

So, that is why I have not been writing daily and why I may be cutting down to writing once a week, or at least one day a week; there may be several posts but occasionally, there may not be. I hope you will all understand and not forget about me.

Oh! I have also passed the driving test and am an officially licensed driver. Yea me! The next big accomplishment I must seek to complete is applying for State medical insurance, which now that I have a job, I will be able to obtain. I want to go in for a full physical because though I feel fine, there has been some concern, both my own and that of others, that I have been losing weight, possibly a bit too much. It may be nothing to be worried about. I have lost 30 pounds since I arrived in Pennsylvania a year ago, and if you think about it, that is less than a tenth of a pound a day, so really no big deal, right? I have been eating healthier and now that I am working, I am getting much more exercise than I have in quite some time. It just seems a bit weird to me because I have not reached this low weight since I have quit using drugs almost seven years ago. Ho-hum.

I have grown out of, or should I say shrunk out of my bathing suit from last summer, so I have not yet been to the pool. Cherie, just now, brought me a bathing suit that fits me very well. Yippee! Especially considering the weather over the next few days is going to be very hot and I have today and tomorrow off. Mary wants to go to the flea market today, which is also something I have been looking forward to doing, but Cherie has just told me she is not going. Maybe Mary and I will still go and maybe not. As soon as I post this, I will call and ask her. If we aren’t going, I will go to the pool where I will spend the entire day absorbing the color back into my too pale skin. I am also thinking of coloring my hair this weekend too. I have said before that I wanted to try purple this time, but the dye Cherie has is wicked and stains your skin for weeks afterward. Therefore, I am seriously considering doing the turquoise again, though I will not be bleaching my hair first to ensure a stark color, but just hoping my hair is light enough on its own that the turquoise will show. I have wanted to grow my hair long for such a long time and it is finally reaching the length I have wanted, but it is becoming so damaged that I may have to cut a few inches off, which is distressing me. I know how vain that is, but I consider my hair to be one of my best features. I guess I will have to do what has to be done and just accept it and know that it will look healthier and will grow back.

Moving on… I will work on posting more of my musical top hits from my birthday and will be adding a little something to them. I will also post the last of the pictures I have from my color series of photos. Since each of three colors has so few photos, I will post them in one blog. I have several other things I want to finish and post, but I do not want to overdo it. If I have the time and energy to get to them, I will, but I won’t stress myself out if I don’t.

Call me strange, but I miss school. Even with a full schedule with work and other life stuff, I am really looking forward to classes resuming in the fall. I still have two full months before they start and at times that feels like forever. This next semester I am taking all Psychology classes. Psych 105, Careers in Psychology, Psych 200, Statistics in Psychology, Psych 243, Well-Being and Positive Psychology, and Psych 256, Cognitive Psychology. Exciting, yes? Can you see why I am so anxious for the fall to get here and to get started? I know school is a lot of hard work, takes up a lot of time, and can cause a lot of stress, but it is one of my favorite things to do. I sometimes worry that when I graduate, and am no longer taking classes, I will miss it so much. Hopefully though, I will ease into a different kind of love when I begin doing my practicum and really get out there and start doing what I am going to school to do. More on this in a future Just Me.

Hmmm… What else? Have I mentioned that I finally finished reading Rubyfruit Jungle by Rita Mae Brown? I liked it, but it wasn’t as outstanding as I had believed it would be. It left me kind of disappointed. It may have been a much better book had I read it when it first came out in 1973, I think, but we have come so far that it just did not wow me as I had hoped. I have also been looking for the movie, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close at the library. They have a copy, but it has been checked out every time I have been there, so the last time I was at the library, I decided to inquire if there was a book that the movie was based on. Sure enough, there was and by the same title. The author is Jonathan Safran Foer, and I read the book last weekend in just two days. It was fantastic and I am now all the more eager to see the movie! I am not one to give book reviews, so you will just have to check the book out yourself, but I promise you, it is very good and well worth the read. I am currently reading Ragtime by E. L. Doctorow, but am only a few pages in. Again, the only time I have to read, or do anything else I want to and enjoy doing is the weekends, and there is only so much time in two days to do all that has to be done. Did I mention the nest few days are going to be super hot and that I will spend every second I can lying by the pool? The pool doesn’t open for another hour and a half, so I have time.

That being said, I better wrap this up so I can post the music videos and see if the flea market is in the cards for today. Though I wish I had more time to spend with all of you, writing, reading your posts, and commenting and returning comments, I just don’t with this job. I will do the best I can and be here as often as time allows. In the meantime, take care, keep writing, creating, and photographing, and know that I love all, or at least most of what I see when I see it.

Until next time…

-Cindy

4 responses to “Just Me, #12

  1. Cindy, great news, the self-esteem that comes with working is clear and evident in your writing voice and stupidly I feel proud of you, although that is presumptious as I don’t know you! Good luck and may the pay rises come frequently and deservedly to you X Sakina

    • Thank you! How very nice of you to say so. I am pretty proud of myself. I am not a morning person, but have gotten up at 4 AM every work day without fail and have not been late one time. It is hard work and can be very tiring, but that is a good feeling. I am wondering how I will do when I start classes again and am both working full-time and going to school full-time. I have always said that I would never be able to do that, but now I am beginning to wonder, can I? Maybe I can. Time will soon tell. Classes begin on August 27th, so keep your fingers crossed that I can keep up. 🙂

        • How very exciting! Best of luck to you and thank you so much for your thoughts and sweet words. Your latest post really meant so very much to me! Keep me posted on how the new job is going. Take care my dear friend!
          -Cindy

Leave a Reply

