No. 1 Billboard Hit, 1994

Here it is the weekend again and i am back to do some blogging. Something came up last weekend and I was pulled away from my computer long before I was done blogging. Let’s see what I can accomplish this weekend.

February 15, 1994 was my 23rd birthday and the number one Billboard hit was The Power of Love by Celine Dion. I remember this song well as my (ex)father-in-law loved this song and played it again and again. I, too, thought it was a beautiful song and through this one, I came to love much of Celine Dion’s other music. Several years later, she was one of my favorite artists and is still today someone I enjoy listening to.

July 14, 1994 was Jeremiah’s 2nd birthday and the number one Billboard hit on that day was I Swear by All-4-One. Hmmm… There is a lot I could say about this song, but I will keep it to a few comments. First of all, this group of men have very nice voices and harmonize well. It is a good song, but I am not sure that it should have been number one against many others that could have been more worthy. And finally, today when I listened to it again, I realized that it made me a bit sick to my stomach. Why? Well, I could say that I no longer believe in love, but that is not entirely true. I do believe in love because I have undoubtedly experienced love on this level and much deeper. Maybe I should just say that I do not believe this kind of love exists for me. Just when I think I have found it, it is quickly and without warning yanked out from under me and I am left standing alone.

Yikes! Ok, it is just a song and this is not about my bitterness, but about its own history. So, it was number one in July of ’94. I will first post Cline Dion’s The Power of Love and then All 4 One’s I Swear.

Enjoy.

2 responses to “No. 1 Billboard Hit, 1994

Leave a Reply

