No. 1 Billboard Hit, 1997

I’m back, continuing this long process of countdown’s for the birthdays of myself and now, both of my sons. Once I have finished with this little series, the only music I will post in the future is songs I truly love and want to share and that have deeper meaning to me than its place in history on each of our birthdays. So, let’s get on with it, shall we?

On my 26th birthday on February 15, 1997, the number one Billboard hit was Unbreak My Heart by Toni Braxton. I love this song and have related to it in my recent past. The video does seem to tell the story of the lyrics in this song, but the truth is, Toni Braxton wrote this song in regards to her autistic son. When you can to listen to it in that context, this song is a real heart-breaker.

Now, I would like to introduce the number one song’s for the date of May 28th, the day my second son was born in 1997. On his date of birth, the number one Billboard hit was MMMBop by Hanson. I have never heard this song until yesterday.  I am quite honestly not sure what to think of this song. It is not bad, but it is not something I can get excited about. Anyone else have any comments about this young and talented girl?

On Jeremiah’s 6th birthday, July 14, 1997, the number one Billboard hit was I’ll Be Missing You by Puff Daddy and Faith Evans featuring 112. Great song, great rhythm, and words I seem to live by on a daily basis. Is this a remake or remix or whatever they call it? It seems I have heard this song before with Puff Daddy’s twist on it. Does anyone know?

While you click and listen, I will quickly get the next years post written and posted. I do not want these to be the only posts I publish before the weekend is out.

4 responses to “No. 1 Billboard Hit, 1997

  1. I’m about 10 years older than you, so many of the songs in the 1990s and into 2000s +, I honestly wasn’t paying attention to, but when I listen to the videos here sometimes they make me remember, but not this time, I know nothing about this girl, but the song isn’t bad,

    • I wanted to learn more about the music that has been created and made popular, but I have grown more and more disappointed in the songs that made number one. I just don’t understand how they made it at all, let alone on a chart such as the Billboard. I love Toni Braxton, so this has not been a total loss.

Leave a Reply

