No. 1 Billboard Hit, 1998

Nineteen-ninety-eight was a hellish year for me. This is the year I finally left my alcoholic, abusive husband, and the same year I became involved in an equally toxic, though I did not learn this until later, relationship with my ex of whom I spent 13 years with. This is the year I began using meth, the exact date, to be quite frank, was on June 11th, which was also the day before my father moved to Oregon, the state where I was living at the time, after he retired. He chose to move across the country to be close to me and my boys after having escaped the danger that my marriage had become. Yeah, so this is probably not the time or the post to be sharing this with you, so don’t be surprised if I include a repeat of this paragraph in a future post. Now, onto the purpose of this post—the music.

My 27th birthday, February 15, 1998, and the same day I left my ex-husband, the number one song on the Billboard charts was Nice and Slow by Usher. I, under the circumstances just shared with you, was obviously not listening to much music, so I had not heard this song until years later. Again, Usher is a favorite of my boys and so I have heard several of his creations, but could not tell you one from the other. I cannot say that I do not like this song, because the truth is, I really do. It is not something I would have chosen to post on my blog due to its risqu’e lyrics, as I do try to keep my blog as clean and respectable as I possibly can, but it is the hit of that particular birthday, so in keeping with the spirit of this series of blogs, I will post it. Moving on…

On Zachariah’s first birthday, the number one Billboard hit was My All by Mariah Carey. Again, Mariah Carey with her very unique, talented, powerful, and heart-stopping voice! I am so happy this was the hit on my baby’s first birthday. Nothing left to say about it. Just listen as many times as you like. You are more than welcome to remain on my blog for the remainder of the day! J

On Jeremiah’s 7th birthday on July 14th, the number one hit on the Billboard charts was The Boy is Mine by Brandi and Monica. I can assure you that I do not believe my son would like this to be the hit of his birthday, but on the other hand, I do believe he likes the artist’s of this song. The song itself is one that I remember thinking, ‘How ridiculously childish and silly?’ the first time I heard it, and have always changed the station every time after that it came on the radio. Of course, you have to understand that a boy is not something I would be fighting over or for. Now, if they were fighting over a woman, then of course, I may have a different opinion of this song… LOL

2 responses to “No. 1 Billboard Hit, 1998

  1. Can’t imagine that the entire time period of the first song doesn’t have bad associations for you, so go you for putting it out there.
    But again, these songs made number 1 without my support.

Leave a Reply

